French Region of Champagne Ardennes

A Champagne Life

A Champagne Life (Photo credit: Vainsang)

The Region of Champagne-Ardennes, in the north-east of France, is comprised of the départements of Ardennes, Marne, Aube and Haute-Marne. However, the ‘region’, designated for the production of Champagne, also includes parts of the adjoining départements of Yonne [in Burgundy, to the south], Aisne [in Picardie, to the west], Seine-et-Marne [in Ile-de-France, to the west, south of Picardie], and Meuse [in Lorraine, to the east]. The old French province of Champagne roughly covered this same area. The name ‘Champagne’, is derived from the Latin word campagna, meaning countryside.

via Champagne Ardennes France,Introduction the French Region of Champagne Ardennes


Enhanced by Zemanta

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s